Blog

The Writing Process — A Blog Hop

Bonus Post!  Welcome to all.

Today’s special posting is brought to you as a portion of a Blog Hop. I guess that means I’m following a rabbit trail to discover new footprints in my writing life.

First I want to thank Claudia Shelton for inviting me to participate. You can find Claudia’s post and more information about her soon-to-be-released romantic suspense at: http://www.claudiawriting.com

And now to the questions.

1)      What am I working on?

This month I’m polishing a synopsis for a companion story to Starr Tree Farm and doing a first draft of a story set in St. Louis.

2)      How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My work has a light tone. The hero and/or heroine faces personal danger (and I’ve often got a dead body central to the story) but that’s as deep and dark as the suspense gets. And my settings stay in the Midwest.

3)      Why do I write what I do?

My favorite books have happy, positive, or hopeful endings for characters that I’d like to meet over a cup of coffee – no matter which century they “lived” in.

4)      How does your writing process work?

On the continuum from pantser to plotter I fall near the plotter. I write a complete first draft, make major changes (I’ve been known to switch serial killers at this point) during the second draft, and then each pass adds details and smaller plot items.

Interested in other authors? Check out Barbara Binns  on March 24.

B . A. Binns writes realistic contemporary multicultural YA novels to attract and inspire young readers with stories of “Real Boys Growing Into Real Men…and the people who love them.” After all, men fall in love just as deeply as women, and their stories deserve to be told and read. She lives in Illinois and is a former RWA Golden Heart® finalist and a winner of a National Readers Choice Award, and teaches classes on writing from the male POV.

Like her on http://facebook.com/allthecolorsoflove

Follow her on twitter @barbarabinns

Check out her website http://babinns.com

Blog- http://barbarabinns.com

1 thought on “The Writing Process — A Blog Hop”

Leave a Reply